The Diocese of Oxford is divided into four smaller ‘episcopal Areas’, each overseen by their own Area Bishop. One of these is Reading, overseen by Bishop Andrew Proud.

This area is then further split into deaneries. The deaneries of the Reading Episcopal Area are: Bracknell, Bradfield, Maidenhead and Windsor, Newbury, Reading and Sonning.


Sonning Deanery has 24 churches in it and the Area Dean of Sonning is the Fr Richard Lamey.

The Church of England in the Wokingham Area